Top 10 Tuesday – September 8th, 2015

toptentuesday

As you can probably tell by this point, I quite enjoy making lists! I promise I’ll be doing other types of posts soon; in fact my first review will be Thursday’s post. But since it is Tuesday, I couldn’t resist giving Top 10 Tuesday a try for the first time. This is an original weekly blog meme created over at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, there is a new bookish topic for bloggers to create a list about. If you want to know more about Top 10 Tuesday, click here!

Today’s topic is the top 10 finished series that I have yet to finish. It is also my “look at all these TBR books I need to read but haven’t yet” guilt trip. Or maybe the “you need to stop buying so many books you crazy person; you’ve gone insane” list. All I can say is, I’m glad this topic is specifically finished series or we would be here all day!

Anyway, this was a fairly easy list to create because, as you will soon see, I discovered that I have way too many series that I haven’t gotten around to finishing yet. I also realized that I’m actually not in the middle of many series at the moment. So this is a mixture of series that I have already started, and ones that are simply on my TBR and that I would like to begin soon.

  1. The Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy by Laini Taylor

daughterofsmokeandbone

In my opinion, this is probably my most embarrassing unread series from this list because I’ve owned Daughter of Smoke and Bone since it was first released. I’ve now also recently purchased the other two books so I can marathon the trilogy. I’ve been keen to read these ever since I first heard the synopsis, and I know that I’m going to love these stories; not to mention the fact that they take place in Prague, one of my favorite places. I really need to get going on them!

  1. The Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth

divergenttrilogy

I read Divergent for the first time last year, and it has definitely become one of my favorite books of all time. However, I continued on to Insurgent earlier this year and it was okay, but I didn’t love it nearly as much. That, coupled with the mixed reviews I always hear about Allegiant (plus the fact that I’ve been majorly spoiled) have sort of slowed down my progress through the trilogy. I do plan on trying to finish it soon though.

  1. The Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness

Chaos_Walking_Trilogy_Patrick_Ness

After reading A Monster Calls, I instantly fell in love with Patrick Ness’s writing, and I have been extremely eager to get to these books. I’ve owned the entire trilogy for a while now, but for some insane reason I have not yet started it. I need to get moving on this!

  1. The Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by Rick Riordan

percyjackson

This one is definitely another embarrassing one since it’s a series that I’ve been meaning to read for about a decade! I finally started it at the end of last year; I’m three books in and absolutely loving it. I’ve already bought the final two and I’m hoping to finish them off this year so I can move on to The Heroes of Olympus series.

  1. The Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson

mistborntrilogy

I have been meaning to read something by Brandon Sanderson for the longest time, and the Mistborn trilogy is what has been recommended to me the most. But really, as a massive fantasy fan, it’s quite shameful that I have not yet read one of his novels! I do feel slightly less guilty about this one because I intend to read The Final Empire this month.

  1. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Series by Douglas Adams

hitchhikersguide

This one is just insane because I absolutely adore these stories! I’ve read the first book multiple times and seen the film more times than I can count. My dad got us a box set so we can both finish the series, and I’m hoping to continue on with it in the next month or so.

  1. The Darkest Minds Trilogy by Alexandra Bracken

thedarkestmindstrilogy

This is yet another trilogy I have, but have not gotten around to starting yet. And I cannot believe that I haven’t because it is basically everything I could ever want in a book series. These books have my name written all over them. I mean, a dystopian series about kids with super powers? Um…YES. Soon.

  1. The Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu

legendtrilogy

I read, and thoroughly enjoyed, Legend last year, and my dad got me a box set of the trilogy this past Christmas. My only excuse for not having finished this trilogy already is the fact that I may or may not be slightly terrified of the feels I know are coming in the last two books. I will get through them soon though, because I am dying to know how the story ends!

  1. The Seven Realms Series by Cinda Williams Chima

thesevenrealms

I’ve known about this series for a while now and I still have yet to begin it. It’s another fantasy series that I have always heard wonderful things about. I recently purchased The Demon King, and it is high up on my TBR, so I’ll hopefully be diving into it soon.

  1. The Shatter Me Trilogy by Tahereh Mafi

shattermeseries

This is a difficult one. It is another trilogy I own, and I have read the first book, but the other two remain unfinished. To be honest, I did not love Shatter Me. I had a really hard time getting into it, and I’m not in a mad rush to move on to the next book. However, I hate leaving series unfinished and I do hear that it keeps getting better, so I think I will try to finish it off at some point.

Well, as you can see, I am downright atrocious at finishing series! I think this may call for some marathons. Let me know in the comments what series you guys still need to finish.

-Ariana

logo2

16 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday – September 8th, 2015

  1. Great list! Daughter of Smoke and Bone is on mine too, and I seriously just stare at Dreams of Gods and Monsters and think “READ IT, FOR CHRIST SAKE.” but nothing happens. It’s an incredible story! And honestly, I probably wouldn’t read Allegiant if I were you. I was spoiled before I read it, too, and it took all the suspense out of it and just the general storyline wasn’t very interesting, either.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much!
      That’s what I’ve been doing with the series as well! I look at it every day and think the same thing; I seriously need to get moving on it! I know it’s going to be fantastic 🙂
      Yeah, I’ve definitely been seriously thinking about just stopping where I am with that trilogy. No matter what, it’s at the very bottom of my TBR. I agree, I think I would probably have that same problem given the nature of that spoiler!

      Like

  2. The next thing about The Final Empire is that it had an ending that isn’t just a cliffhanger to the next book. If you never finish the trilogy you can be satisfied with that book…. Which is one of the reasons that the Mistborn trilogy is also on my unfinished list.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s great! I like a good cliffhanger now and then, but I much prefer a first book that has a satisfying conclusion. I find those nice because a lot of times I can’t move on to the next book right away. I’m even more excited to start it now! 🙂

      Like

  3. We have so many similar series that we need to complete! Although I recommend the Percy Jackson series the most because they’re a hoot, which makes them easier to speed through (but if you like the series then you’d probably want to cherish the rollercoster that is the last book)! The Legend series has so many feeels, I’m not gonna lie D”:

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just checked out your list; we totally do! I am loving the Percy Jackson series so much. I can’t believe I didn’t start it sooner, but I’m so glad I finally did! And I’m incredibly excited for the final two books. I’ve always heard that they are the best! I’m determined to finish them and start in on The Heroes of Olympus series before the end of the year 🙂
      That’s what I keep hearing about Legend. I’m so excited, but so incredibly nervous! I need to prepare myself!

      Like

  4. I own a paperback of Daughter of Smoke and Bone too and have yet to start the series. I wanna start Percy Jackson books but I am not getting to it only. Legend is also on my tbr but I don’t have it. Shatter Me made into my list. Check out My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lots of great series on here! Chaos Walking is one of my favorite YA dystopian series. The style is a little off-putting at first, but once you get used to it, you won’t be able to put the books down. They’re awesome. Better than A MONSTER CALLS, IMHO. Mistborn is also awesome, and I’m not even a huge fantasy fan! Like you, I’ve started Percy Jackson, Legend, and Divergent, but haven’t finished.

    Happy TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m really looking forward to it, and to delving further into Patrick Ness’s work! It sounds like a really unique story, which I feel has become a bit rare in YA dystopian these days. I definitely plan on picking it up before the year is out! 🙂
      I saw on your list that you feel the same way as I do about the Divergent trilogy. I did make it through Insurgent, but I struggled a lot, and I’m very hesitant about Allegiant.
      Do you plan on finishing up Percy Jackson and Legend? 🙂

      Like

  6. I haven’t finished the Divergent trilogy either, I have just the last book to go too (and yes, I have also been majorly spoiled, thanks internet, hence my reluctance to read it!). So glad you have enjoyed the Percy Jackson books you have read so far and hope you enjoy the other two just as much! Chaos Walking, Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Shatter Me and Darkest Minds are all series that are on my TBR!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/08/top-ten-tuesday-21/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

