The Reader Problems Book Tag

readerproblemstag

I was tagged to do the Reader Problems Tag by two lovely ladies—Heather from The Sassy Book Geek and Loreva from La Book Dreamer. They are both fantastic book bloggers so please make sure to swing by and check out their blogs!

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

Heh…it’s getting a bit too close to that for comfort… 😛 When it comes to deciding what to read, no matter what size my TBR, it never really becomes any harder or easier. I am, through and through, a mood reader. And though I can get kind of overwhelmed by a massive TBR, I always go with my heart and read whatever is calling to me in the moment.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

I’m definitely committed. I have the hardest time stopping in the middle of books or series, even if I’m not really enjoying them. In fact, I can count on one hand the number of books I’ve left unfinished in my life so far. Typically, once I start reading a story, I’m in it for the long haul, no matter how painful it gets!

tumblr_mglb5kbfwE1qd0355o1_250

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

Yeah, that’s pretty much how it goes for me every year! I always try to catch up though. I know it’s just a personal challenge, but I absolutely refuse to give up on it. I usually catch up by reading some of the shorter or easier reads on my TBR. I’ll do some middle grade novels, some books under 300 pages. Short story collections are generally pretty good for this as well.

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

I don’t.

giphy-4

380a9-panic

Panic_gif

Just kidding! Despite the fact that I am incredibly particular about the editions I get and the covers of series matching, I actually don’t go to pieces over this. It is extremely annoying, but in the end, when it comes to good books, I don’t really care what the covers look like—the only thing I care about is what’s on the inside.

5. Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?  

A lot of my friends and family are fellow book nerds, and we tend to share opinions about books most of the time. My best friend is definitely my go-to person for bonding over shared feelings about books. I’d also look to my blog or Goodreads—I can usually find someone to rant…I mean…calmly discuss with. 😀

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I actually very rarely cry during books, so I’m not quite sure how I would cope with this situation if it happened! To be honest, I know I would probably be slightly embarrassed about it, but I think I’d just go ahead and cry. I absolutely hate crying in front of people, but if it happened in front of a bunch of strangers, I don’t think I’d really care. I am going to own those bookish feels no matter where I am!

crying-gif

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!

This is a very common problem for me—I have the worst memory! I’d usually prefer to re-read the book, but I don’t always have the time for that. Typically, I’ll remain calm and find a synopsis somewhere online. But on the inside…cry in frustration! Why does my brain only have room for pointless facts that I’ll never need to know and song lyrics?! 😛

8. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?  

Unfortunately, this has happened to me a lot lately. To be honest, I’m pretty terrible at getting out of reading slumps—I’ll just try my best to push through them. Sometimes picking up an old favorite can get me back in action, or reading a particularly fast-paced novel. Graphic novels work occasionally. Definitely let me know if you guys have any suggestions. I really need some tips!

9. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I’m actually surprisingly restrained when it comes to buying new releases—I tend to get a lot of them out of the library instead. Usually, I’ll only buy books that I am certain I’ll want in my permanent collection or ones that aren’t available at my library. Just because I’m dying to read a book does not mean I’m going to enjoy it, so many times I prefer waiting to see if I like it before spending the money.

10. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

Haha umm…well…*shuffles away awkwardly*

anigif_enhanced-buzz-26214-1386099253-4

I tag everyone! If you do this tag or have done it, make sure to link it in the comments so I can come check out your post. 🙂

logo2

12 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Book Tag

  1. I feel like a lot of our answers are the same on this! I’m a terrible mood reader, I WISH I could plan a TBR but I change my mind too much for that. I also wish I had more of your self control when it comes to buying books, I’m also a mood book buyer if that makes sense haha. Awesome post Ariana and I’m glad to see you posting again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great minds (or bookish shield sisters!) think alike! 😀 I create TBRs, but I’m absolutely horrible at sticking to them! I change my mind all the time too, so I end up accidentally ignoring a lot of the TBRs I make. And I totally get what you mean about being a mood book buyer. I have new book self control but when it comes to my general book buying self control, things are definitely a bit more iffy! Haha 😛
      Thank you so much, Heather! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m also a massive mood reader. Planing a TBR is impossible for me – I don’t end up reading any of the books on the pile. XD Just ends up being that way. I also like it when my editions match but I don’t really freak out or get stressed if they don’t. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I should probably stop trying to make TBRs because I always end up ignoring most of them! 😛
      Exactly! The most important thing is the work itself. It’s not the end of the world if they don’t match…but it is still incredibly frustrating! Haha 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hahaha, probably! 😛 I have given up (I tried for a few months, but it didn’t work out). The only time that I stick to a TBR is when there is a read-a-thon and I have to plan for only one week. XD
        Yes! Totally agreed. It’s not the end of the world, but when they match its such a nice feeling (especially when you look at them on your bookshelf). 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Hahaha number 4 and 10 🙂 I agree with almost all of your answers because I would give the same responses to most apart from the crying one because I am a big crier.I also hardly quit any books and I try to complete my personal challenges always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I couldn’t resist using all those gifs. I love them! It’s definitely hard to quit books in the middle, unless they are really unbearable. I always feel it’s more satisfying in the long run to stick with it even if I’m not enjoying it. It’s sort of the same with personal challenges! As long as I’m not getting too overwhelmed, I’m always very determined when it comes to finishing them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

