Top 5 Wednesday – March 29th, 2017

topfivewednesday

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at Gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. Every week, book reviewers all over the world are given a bookish topic and respond with their top 5 books (or elements of books) that relate to that topic. Click here for the Goodreads group if you would like to learn more about Top 5 Wednesday and join in!

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is the top five books you think will be considered classics one day. I absolutely love this topic! It’s so cool to speculate on what novels we read now that might become important and well-love reads for many upcoming generations. We get to imagine the future of the literary history that is being create here and now!

This was actually surprisingly tricky for me to compile because a large number of my favorite novels are already considered classics. But I finally managed to come up with a few novels that I love and really hope to see on the list of classics sometime down the line! 🙂

5. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

hp

4. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

gonegirl

Click here to read my full review of Gone Girl!

3. The Giver by Lois Lowry

thegiver

2. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

thekiterunner

1. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

amonstercalls

Click here to read my full review of A Monster Calls!

Honorable Mentions:

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin
Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

I’d love to hear what books you guys think will become classics one day! Let me know in the comments! 🙂

signaturetardis1

logo2

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – March 29th, 2017

  1. I completely agree with Harry Potter becoming a classic in the future. It’s just so popular and influential to a lot of people that there’s no way it wouldn’t become one. I would love for A Monster Calls to be a classic as well, it’s just a beautiful and tragic story that is very important as well. Great list! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post and good picks! 🙂 I’ve read and liked/loved all of those except The Giver, just started Game of Thrones, and (ashamed to admit this) haven’t read Harry Potter yet.

    Also, I’m not sure if the ping worked but just in case: I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award 😊 If you’d like to participate please see the rules and questions here: https://maniacalbookunicorn.wordpress.com/2017/03/29/the-sunshine-blogger-award-2/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A few of these are on my TBR and I’m dying to read them…especially Gone Girl! Because of all the future classics posts that I’ve seen this week, I brainstormed my own list, and The Giver (and of course Harry Potter) was on mine too! I will totally check out your reviews for the books on this list I haven’t read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

