The TBR Book Tag

I was tagged by the lovely Zezee over at Zezee with Books. Thank you so much for tagging me! You should all go head over and check out her fantastic blog if you haven’t already.

This is the perfect tag for me to do! My TBR is massive and always growing, especially since I have now started blogging. I’m always discovering new novels through my reader friends and other book bloggers, so I’m constantly adding to it, both on Goodreads and to my physical library. There is no way I’ll always be able to pick just one book for each of these questions!

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

Goodreads is my main method of keeping track of my TBR pile. Not only do I add all the books that have piqued my interest but I also devote a whole shelf to all the books that I actually own. On top of that, I have one shelf to compile the books that I want to get to the soonest and another to list books that I want to review here on my blog. Amazon is another place that I use to keep track of some of my TBR, but only the books that I am most eager to add to my collection.

Is your TBR mostly print or e-book?

My TBR is mostly print books. Though e-books are growing on me and I do see the convenience of them, nothing can compare to holding a physical book; that’s one of the best parts of the reading experience in my opinion. I also love the idea of having a collection of books to fill the shelves of my own personal library. So, though I continue to occasionally expand my e-book library, I still purchase actual physical copies of the majority of my books.

How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

Like many, I am most definitely a mood reader. I tend to have a list of a number of books that I am more eager to get to than others, but I find that I cannot create too much of a strict TBR for myself. It is impossible for me to force myself to read something if I’m not in the mood for that type of story. However, sometimes it has to do with the time of year as well. Certain seasons or holidays tend to change my mood. For instance, I tend to read darker and spookier books in the fall, around Halloween, and lighter books in the summer.

A book that’s been on your TBR the longest?

athousandsplendidsuns theunbecomingofmaradyer

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini – This is the first book that I ever added to my TBR on Goodreads. I love Khaled Hosseini’s work so naturally, I added this back when it first came out; unfortunately, I have not yet had a chance to get to it. This is a book I hope to read very soon.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – This is probably one of the books that has been both on my Goodreads TBR and in my actual physical TBR pile the longest. I got this back when it first came out, but never got around to reading it. I’ve been putting it off even more lately because of the mixed reviews I have heard about the trilogy as a whole. Nevertheless, I do intend to get to it sometime soon.

A book you recently added to your TBR?

Screen Shot 2015-10-25 at 2.37.47 PM

Time at the Top by Edward Ormondroyd – This is a book that my mom absolutely loves and has wanted me to read for years, so I’ve finally added it to my TBR. I’ll definitely be giving this a try soon.

This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzi Lee – I just discovered this novel a couple weeks ago. I’ve been seeing it on a number of blogs that I read, and so far I’ve only seen positive reviews. It sounds like something that would be right up my alley, so I’m really looking forward to reading it.

A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn – I actually found this from a random ad on Goodreads. It popped up on my homepage one day and when I looked into it, the synopsis sounded pretty intriguing. I’ve seen a lot of good reviews for it as well, so I’m very interested to see what I think.

Soulless by Gail Carriger – This is a novel that I have been seeing at the bookstore for years but keep passing by. Between the rave reviews I have read on blogs and heard on Booktube, I figured I should finally give this book a read!

A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?

I do not have any books on my TBR that are on there solely because they have a beautiful cover. However, I do have a lot of books that I absolutely adore the covers of, so I picked out a few of my favorite ones. These are all books whose covers are the main thing that drew me to them in the first place.

Screen Shot 2015-10-25 at 2.43.34 PM

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North

A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?

prettylittleliars

Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard – This is a book that I got a copy of a while back when I first started watching the television show. However, I stopped watching the show around season 3 and since then have sort of lost interest in this book. This is by no means a book that I definitely never plan on reading; I don’t think I have any books on my TBR I could say that about. But it is very low priority on my reading list, and there is a chance that I may never pick it up.

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?

solutionsandotherproblems winter

Solutions and Other Problems by Allie Brosh – I read and fell in love with her first book, Hyperbole and a Half, (and subsequently the blog of the same name) early last year, and I am absolutely dying to get my hands on this. I have had this preordered for ages now, and I am incredibly sad that the release date got pushed from the end of this year until next April. I can’t wait that long!

Winter by Marissa Meyer – If you have read the many posts where I babble on about my love for Marissa Meyer and The Lunar Chronicles, then this should come as no surprise. This is one of my most anticipated novels of the year!

A book on your TBR that everyone has read but you?

thebookthief

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – As I’ve said before, I am pretty sure I am one of the only people on the planet who has not read this book yet. I keep meaning to do so and then I end up putting it off. But no more! I am determined to get to this book before the end of the year.

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?

missperegrineshomeforpeculiarchildren

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – Not only do I constantly read and hear good reviews of this book on blogs and Booktube, but a number of my friends and family members keep recommending this to me. In particular, my best friend and my mom have both been telling me to read this for years! This is another book I hope to finish before the end of the year.

A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?

Screen Shot 2015-10-25 at 6.38.01 AM

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn – Again, if you are a veteran of my blog posts, you will already expect this to be on here. I have quickly become a massive Gillian Flynn fan this year; so obviously, I must read all the books!

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli – This is another book that I have been hearing nothing but wonderful things about. I picked this up right when it first came out and I’ve been waiting for a good time to read it. I’m really in the mood for a funny book right now, so I will be reading this quite soon.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – This is one of the most recent additions to my TBR, and I am so excited about it. It sounded fantastic to begin with, but I’m even more eager to read it after seeing all the amazing reviews that have been pouring in.

Vicious by V.E. Schwab – It’s a book about supervillains—need I say more? I finally have a copy and I cannot wait to get to it. Hopefully, this will be one of my next reads.

Half a King by Joe Abercrombie- This is another one of my most recent purchases. I saw that a few friends of mine on Goodreads were reading this and decided to check it out. Not only does the plot sound like something I’ll love, but I’ve also read an excerpt from it and the writing is absolutely gorgeous!

How many books are in your Goodreads TBR shelf?

There are 545 books on my Goodreads TBR shelf. *Smiles and shuffles away awkwardly*

DogEmbarrassed-1.gif~c200

I Tag:

Giselle @ Hardwork Boulevard

Jessica @ Mud and Stars

Nora @ Always Keep Reading

T.K. @ Read it or Not Reviews

Anna @ My Bookish Dream

Marian @ Bookception21

logo2

27 thoughts on “The TBR Book Tag

  1. Thank you for tagging me! 😀
    I’ll be adding to the rave reviews of Soulless by saying that I absolutely loved that book! I can’t wait to pick up the next one in the series. I hope you end up loving Vicous as much as I did when you get to it. It’s one of my favourites! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re welcome!! Lol at the dog. The Raven Boys is really good and great for this time of year. And I just got Soulless! Well, not really. I just ordered it. I hope it’s really as great as everyone says.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I love that dog ❤
      I've heard a lot of people say that about The Raven Boys; it does sound like a great fall read! Hopefully I can get to it pretty soon! 🙂
      Awesome 😀 I really need to get myself a copy of that!

      Like

  3. I’m most eager to read Vicious by V. E. Schwab, too. I bought the ebook back when it was on sale for 1.99$ and I’m finally going to get to reading it after I finish Never Never by Brianna Shrum (which is a review book I’ll be posting on my blog). My IRL book club is reading Vicious for our January book (we don’t have a December book though because that month is just too crazy because of the holidays).

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so excited for Vicious! I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to get to it. I’m hoping to pick it up soon too, either before the end of the month or at the very beginning of next month! We’ll have to compare notes! 😀
      Never Never is one that I’ve just discovered recently and am definitely interested in checking out. How is it? Are you enjoying so far?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Definitely. I’m probably going to write a review of Vicious when I finish it because I’ve really been looking forward to reading it.
        I’m actually enjoying Never Never. It’s told from Hook’s perspective and it’s definitely more sympathetic toward his character. Also, Pan is portrayed as more of the villain. It’s possibly the Peter Pan retelling that sticks closer to the original tale versus the Disney version.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ll be interested to see if you like Soulless. I read it a few years ago and was not a huge fan. But I think I’m in the minority on this one.

    As for Dark Places, it’s really quite good. I think you’ll enjoy it.

    When you get to it, of course. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews on it; people seem to either really love it or really hate it. I’m definitely eager to see how I feel about it!

      I am beyond excited to read more Gillian Flynn! I’ll hopefully be starting it in the next week or so 😀

      Like

  5. wow! Great choices! I’m currently reading Hyperbole and a Half and I loved it! It was so hilarious. I didn’t there’s a second book. Anyway, thank you so much for tagging my blog. It really means a lot to me. Although I’ve done this tag before, I’m glad to be tagged again. So, thank you again! I enjoyed reading yours. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hyperbole and a Half was one of my favorite books I read last year. She is so funny! 😀 There is supposed to be another one coming but the release date keeps getting pushed back 😦

      Ah I’m sorry; I didn’t realize! But thank you so much for reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Oh man, that makes me feel so much better! Everyone talks about it so much, I always feel like I’m the only one who hasn’t gotten around to it yet! 😛

      Thank you so much! 😀 I’ve really been enjoying reading your blog as well!

      Like

  6. Thanks for the tag 🙂 Don’t worry, you’re not the only person who hasn’t read The Book Thief – it has been on my shelf forever, and I keep meaning to read it but can never seem to get round to it! I seem to always pick it up when I’m not really in the mood for it. I’m determined to finish it one day, because I’ve heard such good things about it. Also you should definitely read Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda, I loved it so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome! 🙂
      I’ve been the same way with it. I keep thinking I should pick it up and then realizing that I’m not quite in the mood for that type of story, so I put it off again. It seems sort of like a good winter read, so I’m hoping I can get to it later in December, before the end of the year!
      I absolutely can’t wait to read Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda! I have a couple of books I need to read first, but as soon as I finish them, I’m going straight on to that one! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: The TBR Book Tag | Mud and Stars

  8. Pingback: The TBR Book Tag – Cleopatra Loves Books

Leave a comment