Dashing Through the Snow Book Tag

dashingthroughthesnow2

I was tagged to do the Dashing Through the Snow book tag by five wonderful book bloggers: Heather from The Sassy Book Geek, Loreva from La Book Dreamer, Ashleigh from A Frolic Through Fiction, Kayla from Bookedsolid1989, and Liam from Liam’s Library. Thank you all so much for the tag! Also, a big thank you to Astra from A Stranger’s Guide to Novels for creating this tag. Please make sure you stop by and check out all of these absolutely amazing book bloggers! 🙂

_________________________________________________________________________________

The Rules:

_________________________________________________________________________________

1. Name a book you would like to see under your Christmas tree.

This is (unsurprisingly!) an incredibly difficult question to pick just one for. Basically, my go to answer when anyone asks me what I want for Christmas or my birthday is BOOKS! …And Funko Pops…but mainly books! So here’s just a few books I wouldn’t mind finding under the tree this year.

thenightcircus aknightofthesevenkingdoms Print 18914553

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – I’ve been wanting to read this for so long now, but I’ve been holding out to get the hardcover edition because it is so beautiful!

Harry Potter Paperback Boxset – I only have a shared set with my family of the original editions of this series, so I’d absolutely love to have my own collection. And these covers…<3

A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms by George R.R. Martin – For any of you who have been following my posts lately, this will probably come as no surprise. I have become completely obsessed with Game of Thrones this year, so I must consume all related content immediately!

Soulless by Gail Carriger – This is another novel I’ve wanted to read for a while but haven’t gotten a chance to pick up a copy of yet. I definitely want to start this series in the new year.

2. A book you’ll be reading during the Christmas season.

vicious thebookthief2

Vicious by V.E. Schwab is the book that I am currently making my way through in an impromptu buddy read with Heather from The Sassy Book Geek! Toward the end of the month, after all these years, I am finally going to read The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. There will hopefully be a few other books sprinkled in there, but these two are definite. It’s going to be a wonderful season of reading!

3. Favourite Christmas movie.

11173371_ori

My absolute favorite Christmas movie of all time is It’s A Wonderful Life. This is a fairly untraditional type of story for this time of year, and it is an absolutely beautiful and truly unique film. It also stars one of my favorite actors ever, so it is just a bundle of awesome!

4. Do you like snow?

I definitely have very mixed feelings about snow. Pre-Christmas snow is almost always wonderful…post-Christmas snow, not so much. It is absolutely beautiful to watch coming down and to see covering everything, but I hate when I or any loved ones have to travel in it. And by February, I’m usually pretty tired of it.

tumblr_mea4mvcFh91rdyi7so1_500

5. Name a character you would like to spend your Christmas day with.

This was a really difficult one to decide on because there are so many characters I think would be awesome to spend Christmas day with. However, I ended up choosing Mr. Tumnus. He is such a lovely character and one of my favorites from the series. Everything about Narnia feels so perfect for this time of year, and I think he would be fantastic to have Christmas dinner with!

tumblr_mo8z7aPvCr1ssinygo1_500

6. To give or to receive?

I much prefer giving gifts over receiving them. I absolutely love shopping for my friends and family, especially since many of them are book lovers like myself! My favorite thing in the world is surprising people with gifts. It’s the best feeling ever to bring joy to someone any time of year, but particularly during the holidays.

7. What fictional place would you like to spend Christmas at?

The_Chronicles_of_Narnia_The_Silver_Chair_39636

I am going to have to agree with many other bloggers who have been doing holiday tags lately and go with Narnia. I just generally want to go to Narnia, but it would be especially wonderful to go there during the Christmas season. And this totally ties in with my answer to question five!

8. Fondest Christmas memory?

This is by far the most difficult question on here for me to answer because I have so many incredible Christmas memories. Spending time with my family at the holidays makes fond memories every single year. Also, as a singer, this is my favorite time of the choral year, with some of the most beautiful music and services. I love our Christmas Eves full of singing and the dinner in between services for the whole choir (my other family!).

If I had to pick one specific memory, it would probably be my first year singing the late service on Christmas Eve when I was seven years old. Back then, we started singing at 11pm, so by the time we finished, it was after midnight on Christmas Day. I got to ring in Christmas together with my family and a bunch of my friends, and it was an absolutely magical night!

9. Can you say Christmas tree then times FAST in a row (pronouncing it correctly!)?

I get tongue-tied so easily, but surprisingly enough, I can actually do this!

I Tag:

Emma @ The Terror of Knowing

Jen @ J.N. Cahill

Zezee @ Zezee with Books

Poppy @ Poppy’s Best of Books

Richard @ The Humpo Show

Daniela @ Daniela’s Bookshelf

Getting Through Anxiety

logo2

23 thoughts on “Dashing Through the Snow Book Tag

  1. Great answers Ariana! I especially love that you picked Mr. Tumnus, thought didn’t even cross my mind but he’d be awesome to spend Christmas with! Especially since you’d be in Narnia for the holiday anyways, haha. I bought Knight of the Seven Kingdoms a month ago and still haven’t read it yet….but yes to ALL the game of thrones related things! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Heather! It took me forever to think of an answer for that one, but choosing to spend Christmas in Narnia made me think of him. Best Christmas ever! Haha! 🙂 I am so excited to read Knight of the Seven Kingdoms (and everything else GOT related). I’m not huge on audiobooks usually, but I’m considering trying that one out because it’s read by Harry Lloyd; that might be kind of awesome! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for tagging me. 🙂
    Love your answers! I’ve seen the film version of The Book Thief, which was brilliant, and I really want to read the book too. Is it bad that I’ve seen the film before I read the book? :s

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Dashing Through the Snow Tag | The Humpo Show

  4. Pingback: Dashing Through the Snow Book Tag | Zezee with Books

Leave a comment